FOOTPRINTS

1380273_10202179885199483_1762382158_n

It all comes back like a fleeting memory.. The sound of the waves.. The unique smell of the sand.. The raw odour of a freshly caught fish. I used to love this place until… It was my favourite destination once. My childhood vacation spot. The land of the Gods… RAMESWARAM. How things change!. I wish I could turn back the clock and re-write history.  Why did it have to be so 

I walk across for one last time. My hands shiver. It’s time to say GOODBYE.  I was the prince in waiting or so I thought. Sadly without the KING the throne seems like an empty void. The hand that held me is no longer there.  All I see around me are FOOTPRINTS.. Footprints of a life well lived. Lives touched.. Glowing speeches. He isn’t there to hear it all as his face fades to oblivion. There’s a lump in my throat and tears in my eyes as I utter DADDY. I know he’s never coming back having gone to his abode. He’s moved on.. It’s time for me too.

hear the announcement “ The train from RAMESWARAM to CHENNAI arrives at PLATFORM NO… I look at Mom. It’s time to toughen myself and move on. I wave to my kinsmen for one last time. I know I am never coming back . My destination lies elsewhere. It’s time to leave my own footprints for others to follow. It’s time to LET GO of the place that I once loved..

This post was written for Project 365 program at We Post Daily. The prompt for today was “ Is there a place in the world you never want to visit? Where, and why not?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “FOOTPRINTS

  1. Hey Salesh, I loved the title and the image and the way you ended this post. Yes at times, our destination is somewhere else, but it taes time for us to realise that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

